Board of Library Trustees

The Southern Maryland Regional Library Association (SMRLA) is governed by a board of trustees. The board consists of three members representing each Southern Maryland county. Members are drawn from the boards of trustees for Calvert, Charles, and St. Mary’s libraries, as well as community members. Each county library may nominate two members of its respective board. The third individual may be a member of the county’s board or may be a citizen of that county. Trustees serve a three-year term and officers are elected annually to serve a one-year term.

Board Meetings

The SMRLA board meets the second Tuesday of each month at 10 a.m. Meetings are currently held virtually via Zoom. Meeting notices, including the agenda and Zoom log-in information, are posted below:

Meeting Start: November 9, 2021 at 10:00 AM

Zoom Meeting ID:     943 5869 8435
Passcode:     644732

Dial by your location
+1 301 715 8592 US (Washington DC)

Agenda for Board Meeting on November 9, 2021 at 10:00 A.M.

Call to Order

Citizens for Maryland Libraries Presentation

Employee Recognition – Susan Grant

Approval of Minutes

Financial Report

CEO’s Report

Old Business

  • Regional Library Statute

New Business

  • Holidays 2022
  • Privacy Policy
  • Board Member Recruitment
  • Reserves

Download a PDF of the agenda here.

Meeting Minutes

Historical Meeting Minutes available upon request.

Board Members

Jim Hanley (2019-2022) is SMRLA’s Board President and a member of the St. Mary’s County Board of Library Trustees. He is a writer, retired Naval officer, retired human resources director and former adjunct professor. Hanley holds a master’s degree in labor and industrial relations. He is a member of the Edward Thomas Fellowship.

Danielle R. Staudt (2021-2024) is SMRLA’s Board Vice-President and a member of the Charles County Public Library Board of Trustees. She is executive director of the Population Association of America. Staudt earned a bachelor’s degree in English from Xavier University and is pursuing a master’s degree from University of Maryland Global Campus. She is a Certified Association Executive and a member of the American Society of Association Executives and the Council of Engineering and Scientific Society Executives.

Martha Grahame (2020-2023) is SMRLA’s Treasurer and a member of the Calvert Library Board of Library Trustees.

Ronald Crupi (2019-2022) is a member of the Calvert Library Board of Library Trustees.

Samantha Lynch Johnson (2019-2022) is a member of the Charles County Public Library Board of Trustees. She is a digital accessibility coordinator.

Melody J. Philpotts (2020-2023) is a community representative for Charles County. She is a library media specialist with Charles County Public Schools and an adjunct professor with the College of Southern Maryland. Philpotts holds a bachelor’s degree in consumer affairs from Howard University and a master’s degree in curriculum and instruction from University of Maryland College Park. She volunteers with the Charles County Department of Social Services Christmas Connection Program and is a member of Kiwanis International.

Beth Roth (2020-2023) is a community representative for St. Mary’s County. She is a retired librarian and holds a bachelor’s degree from the University of Iowa, a master’s of library science from University of Iowa, and a PhD from George Mason University. Roth is a member of the Patuxent Presbyterian Church, the Democratic Women of St. Mary’s County, and the Head Start Policy Council for St. Mary’s County Public Schools.

Terese D. Wells (2021-2024) is a community representative for Calvert County. She earned a bachelor’s degree in library science from Millersville University. She is an active church volunteer and a director on the Calvert County Fair Board, and has served on various committees for Calvert County Public Schools.